Parking signs in California

California ADA parking sign with minimum fine $250 text

A fully ADA-compliant California parking sign, current as of 5/6.

Accessible parking spaces

  • To mark accessible parking spaces, Vehicle Code section 22511.8 says that you must to post a sign immediately adjacent to each accessible space, and visible from each accessible space. The sign must have the International Symbol of Access in white on it, on a blue background, saying “Parking only – minimum fine $250.” The sign should be minimum 12” x 18”. If the space is van-accessible, “van accessible” should also be included.
  • Additionally, you must also include a sign at the entrance to your parking facility, 17” x 22”, with 1” letters that says, “Unauthorized vehicles parked in designated accessible spaces not displaying distinguishing placards or special license plates issued for persons with disabilities will be towed away at the owner’s expense. Towed vehicles may be reclaimed at: [the towing company’s address], or by telephoning [name and phone number of local law enforcement agency].

See our examples of fully compliant California disabled parking signs.

Towing laws

California tow away sign for electric vehicles with custom text

Custom California tow away sign for electric vehicles. Current as of 5/6

I’m a property owner. What signage do I have to post to warn drivers that their cars might be towed?

  • To tow, you must have a sign at every vehicle entrance to your facility, which says “Unauthorized vehicles will be removed at the owner’s expense, Citation may be issued,” and includes contact information for the towing company and law enforcement.
  • For electric vehicle charging spaces, the sign requirements are slightly different. It should be visible from each parking space should say, “Unauthorized vehicles not connected for electric charging purposes will be towed away at owner’s expense. Towed vehicles may be reclaimed at [the towing company’s address] or by telephoning [name and phone number of local law enforcement].”

My car was towed. What do I do?

  • You should call local law enforcement.

See our selection of compliant California towing signs.

Fire lane signage

  • The standard fire code requires you to post a 12” x 18” sign with 3” letters above any fire lane. In general, it’s the local authorities who set fire lane distances in the building code. You should be safe by posting signs every 25 feet, but make sure you check local fire and building codes, because they vary from city to city.

See our selection of compliant California fire lane signs.

SmartSign is not in the business of providing legal advice. Make sure to check with a lawyer or your local authorities if you have any questions. Sometimes, local laws are different from what the state requires.

 

 

Top