Mon-Thu 8am - 8pm
Fri 8am - 7pm EST
for orders of
$9.95 and more

Parking signs in New Jersey

New Jersey ADA parking sign with double arrow

A fully ADA-compliant New Jersey parking sign, current as of 5/6.

Accessible parking spaces

  • To mark accessible parking spaces, you must designate each accessible space with a sign that is green on white, with “Reserved parking,” and the International Symbol of Access in blue and white on it.
  • The sign should be minimum 12” x 18”.
  • If the space is van-accessible, “van accessible” should also be included on the sign.

See our examples of fully compliant New Jersey disabled parking signs.

Towing laws

New Jersey tow away sign with custom text and up to date statute

Custom New Jersey tow away sign with up to date statute as of 5/6.

I’m a property owner. What signage do I have to post to warn drivers that their cars might be towed?

  • To tow, you must have a sign at every vehicle entrance to your facility.
  • The sign must be 36″ x 36″.
  • This sign must have:
    • “Parking only for authorized persons”, “Unauthorized parking prohibited”, “Unauthorized vehicles will be towed at the owner’s expense”
    • The name, address, and telephone number of the towing company
    • Charges for the towing and storage
    • Hours and address of the storage facility
    • The phone number for the N.J. Division of Consumer Affairs, 800-242-5846

My car was towed. What do I do?

  • You should call the New Jersey Department of Consumer Affairs.

See our selection of compliant New Jersey towing signs.

Fire lane signage

  • The standard fire code requires you to post a 12” x 18” sign with 3” letters above fire lanes. In general, it’s the local authorities who set fire lane distances in the building code. You should be safe by posting signs every 25 feet, but make sure you check local fire and building codes, because they vary from city to city.

See our selection of compliant New Jersey fire lane signs.

SmartSign is not in the business of providing legal advice. Make sure to check with a lawyer or your local authorities if you have any questions. Sometimes, local laws are different from what the state requires.

Top