Mon-Thu 8am - 8pm
Fri 8am - 7pm EST
for orders of
$9.95 and more

Parking signs in Utah

Utah ADA parking sign with van accessible text.

A fully ADA-compliant Utah parking sign, current as of 5/6.

Accessible parking spaces

  • To mark accessible parking spaces, you must designate each accessible space with a sign that is green on white, saying “reserved parking,” with the International Symbol of Access on it in blue and white.
  • The sign should be minimum 12” x 18”.
  • If the space is van-accessible, “van accessible” should also be included on the sign.
  • Some cities, like Salt Lake City, require that the minimum fine be posted, but this is not required by state law.

See our examples of fully compliant Utah disabled parking signs.

Towing laws

Utah tow away sign with custom text and up to date statute

Custom Utah tow away sign with up to date statute as of 5/6.

I’m a property owner. What signage do I have to post to warn drivers that their cars might be towed?

  • To tow, you must have a sign at every vehicle entrance to your facility.
  • This sign must have:
    • Language saying, “Private property”, and “Unauthorized vehicles will be towed at the owner’s expense”.
    • The towing company name and phone number.
    • Limitations on who can park there. (For example, “Parking for customers of Deseret Bee Supply only.”)

My car was towed. What do I do?

  • You should call local law enforcement. Laws vary between cities, so local police will be able to assist you with specific guidance.

See our selection of compliant Utah towing signs.

Fire lane signage

  • The standard fire code requires you to post a 12” x 18” sign with 3” letters above fire lanes. In general, it’s the local authorities who set fire lane distances in the building code. You should be safe by posting signs every 25 feet, but make sure you check local fire and building codes, because they vary from city to city.

See our selection of compliant Utah fire lane signs.

SmartSign is not in the business of providing legal advice. Make sure to check with a lawyer or your local authorities if you have any questions. Sometimes, local laws are different from what the state requires.

Top