Mon-Thu 8am - 8pm
Fri 8am - 6pm EST
for orders of
$9.95 and more
 • $9.95 until free shipping.

No excuses for illegally parking in a disabled parking space

disabled parking

Unless you want to find yourself with a stiff fine, stay out of these parking spots.

The lot’s full and that prime, disabled parking spot is the only empty spot. Should you take it? According to state law, getting caught with your car illegally parked in a handicapped parking space has very serious consequences. While the penalties for parking in a disabled parking space vary from state to state, the fines and legal penalties are substantial across the board.

California’s state law has the minimum fine for parking in a disabled parking space at $250, with the maximum held at $500. The city of San Francisco has its own, far more severe fine of $935 for the first offense.

Minnesota has one of the lowest penalties for unauthorized parking in a disabled parking space with a maximum fee of $200, with no listed minimum.

Chicago’s laws are far more rigid when it comes to disabled parking spots. In the Windy City, there’s ”a $500 fine and 30-day license suspension for the first offense, a $750 fine and one-year license suspension for the second offense, and a $1,000 fine and revoked license for the third.” Repeat offense are no joke, and with permanent license revocation on the line, it’s probably a good idea to avoid parking in disabled parking spots at all costs.

While most drivers want to avoid trouble with the law, one Connecticut man reported his own parking violation, repeatedly calling local police to report that he was illegally parked in a disabled parking space. After a scuffle with the police, the man was arrested, but in the end got exactly what he wanted: a ticket and a fine for parking in a disabled parking space without a permit.

The Seattle Police Department made news when one of its own patrol cars was illegally parked in a disabled parking spot. The officer in question is expected to pay the city’s $250 fin plus an additional $200 administrative fee. Nobody is above the law when it comes to parking in disabled parking spaces without a legally administered placard.

Most people don’t want to pay a sky-high fee for negligent parking. If you come across a disabled parking spot, it’s always best to leave it open for someone who truly needs it.